The Wife Upstairs

The Wife Upstairs

Book - 2021
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
"A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins's The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name. But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her? With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2021.
ISBN: 9781250245496
1250245494
Characteristics: 290 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
LorettaMCottone
Mar 01, 2021

A twisted take on Jane and Rochester. Read it!

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Feb 23, 2021

A thriller that is also a Jane Eyre retelling?...sign me up!

a
Alpha_zzz
Feb 15, 2021

I wouldn’t recommend this book. It’s a very convoluted story and one where the author is trying to create a twist, but the twist doesn’t work and the story becomes even more confusing. The other small annoyance I had with this was the lack of quality editing. It was poorly edited and I found a few obvious mistakes that should have been caught during the edit.

c
curd5223
Feb 10, 2021

I just finished this book today. What a waste of my time. I've never seen the "f" word used more than this. It showed up on every page at least once.
Also, why do authors think we care or need to know their political views? That didn't show up until I was almost finished or I would have returned it right away.
The story just got more "stupid" as I turned the pages. Don't waste your time like I did reading this.

b
brangwinn
Jan 05, 2021

I seldom like a book filled with so many unlikeable characters, but Rachel Hawkins has used their unpleasant characteristics to good advantage in this modern retake on Jane Eyre. You need not have read that classic to be quickly enmeshed in the story of Jane who moves to Birmingham Alabama to restart her life. Taking a job as a dog walker in a wealthy community, she becomes romantically involved with one of her clients and moves in with him as she prepares for their marriage. Her fiancé’s wife and her best friend have been murdered although the body of Eddie’s wife has never been found. From the title, readers will guess correctly that Eddie has hidden Bea in a secure room upstairs. Lots of twists and turns and an unexpected ending make this one a stay up late to find out what happened. The audiobook adds to the suspense with great voice changes for the three narrators make it a very easy book for listening enjoyment.

d
darladoodles
Dec 18, 2020

"Like a cat and a mouse (cat and a mouse)
From door to door and-a house to house
Don't you pretend you don't know
What I'm talking about."
-'Jane' by Jefferson Starship (1979)

Jane, Jane, Jane. What kind of games are you playing? I think you may have met your match. This book is full of unlikable characters. There was not a single person in this book that I would have wanted to spend any time with. But, of course, after reading this book I also know all their secrets. Jane Bell is a former foster child with a shady past and the determination to remake herself. She begins by choosing an affluent suburb in which she offers her services as a dogwalker. After almost being run over by Eddie Rochester, a dashing widower, her life is transformed. What will happen once she moves into his house and starts to learn more about the famous Bea Rochester who disappeared in a boating accident. Or did she? That classic song by Jefferson Starship predicts that Jane is playing a game she can never win. Will that be the case for this Jane? As far as a modern retelling of 'Jane Eyre' this was a bit of a miss for me. I did fully enjoy it as a modern thriller and have no doubt that many may seek out the old classic after reading this title.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top