The Diamond and the Boy

The Diamond and the Boy

The Creation of Diamonds & the Life of H. Tracy Hall

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the Boy follows the stories of both natural diamond creation and the life of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of a revolutionary diamond-making machine. Perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, and On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Before a diamond is a gem, it's a common gray rock called graphite. Through an intense trial of heat and pressure, it changes into one of the most valuable stones in the world.

Before Tracy Hall was an inventor, he was a boy--born into poverty, bullied by peers, forced to work at an early age. However, through education and experimentation, he became one of the brightest innovators of the twentieth century, eventually building a revolutionary machine that makes diamonds.

From debut author Hannah Holt--the granddaughter of Tracy Hall--and illustrator Jay Fleck comes this fascinating in-depth portrait of both rock and man.

Publisher: New York : Balzer + Bray, an Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062659033
0062659030
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 25 x 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Fleck, Jay - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top